Book by Vancouver, British Columbia, author releases today, July 18

Wesley James ruined my Life ($15.99, Raincoast Books, Swoon Reads) by British Columbia author Jennifer Honeybourn made me laugh, often out loud.

Quinn, or Q as Wesley James called her, is a great character, whose sense of humour is pretty fantastic. It was Quinn’s words and situations I kept bookmarking for future references including this gem about Wesley:

“I give him a stare back. ‘Why are you here?’ Wesley pulls out his tuba, his eyes narrowing thoughtfully. ‘You know, you ask me that a lot,’ he says. That’s because he is always turning where I least expect him. He’s like bedbugs: irritating and impossible to get rid of.”

Fantastic.

I was, however, also frustrated by Quinn and the grudge she was holding against Wesley James, a former friend who moved away and has moved back. She holds him personally responsible for ruining her life, and as such spends most of the book trying to ruin his – by removing him from her life and getting him fired from Tudor Tymes, a medieval England-themed restaurant they both work at.

As her friend Erin points out, Quinn needs to let things go. While the characters are real, particularly the way they talk and their reactions to situations, I am not convinced anyone would really blame someone for ruining their lives in this situation.

Saying that, it was a fun, fast read that will you make you laugh.

You can read my Q&A with Honeybourn here.

A copy of this book was provided by Raincoast Books for an honest review.

