I am a journal fan. I have been writing in journals since I was a young girl, recording what happened when I went over to Jenny’s house for a swim or to played outside with Anthea.

When my son was a baby, I used my journal as his baby book, recording moments of fear and joy, and milestones.

Sadly, journaling now gets pushed to the bottom of the list and gets pulled out in times of need. I end up filling dozens of pages during one sitting, with the pledge to write more often as I love the feeling writing in my journal gives me – emptiness, calmness and perspective.

So when I noticed One Line A Day, a Five-year Memory Book ($24.95, Raincoast Books, Chronicle Books), I jumped at a chance to own it.

It’s a pocket-sized book, about an inch thick. It’s beautiful – blue with gold and white dots, gold edging and a gold bookmark to hold your page. Each page offers a date, July 6, for example, and each of the five sections have six lines for you to record what happened.

I hope to record the weather and an overview what I did. I also plan to keep it on my bedside table, with pen handy, so I can take the two minutes to find peace at the end of the day.

A copy of this book was provided by Raincoast for an honest review.

