Enjoy one of these four picture books perfect for those with imagination.

Book Time, book reviews, Raincoast Books, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, picture books, children's books, STEM, science, scientific method, family, scientist
Charlotte the Scientist is Squished is a great book for those interested in STEM.

Charlotte the Scientist is Squished
Charlotte the Scientist is Squished by Camille Andros ($23.99, Raincoast Books, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) was a wonderful book about Charlotte, who is a serious scientist who solves important problems by following the scientific method – question, hypothesis, experiment, observation and conclusion. She has the right equipment – lab coat, clipboard – but she doesn’t have space because she has so many brothers and sisters.

She then sets out to use science to solve her problem about her lack of space. It is a super fun book, made better by the fact that each solution comes with its own problem, which Charlotte then tries to solve. At the end of the book Charlotte challenges her readers to ask and answer a question using the scientific method. What a great idea, and one I hope to do with my eight-year-old who has an interest in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM).

Book Time, book reviews, children's books, picture books, imagination, What If I Won't, Aurielle Gullerey, illustrations, OwlBooks, family, son, father, dad and son
Daddy Long Legs.

Daddy Long Legs
Daddy Long Legs by Nadine Brun-Cosme ($15.95, Kids Can Press) sees Daddy dropping Matthew to kindergarten in his old green car and telling him he will see him in the afternoon. But Matthew stops his daddy from leaving and asks, “What if, this afternoon, the old green car doesn’t start?”, which leads to a series of what-ifs in response to each of Daddy’s outlandish ideas of how he would pick up his son.

It’s a cute book, but one that I have seen before in And What If I Won’t by Maureen Fergus ($17.95, OwlKids). I found Daddy Long Legs a bit too long – to many ways dad would find is way back, but otherwise I the enjoyed the imagination shown by the dad including a big green dragon who will be at Matthew’s side in two flaps of his wings and three big leaps and the rabbits that Daddy will strap to his feet so they could hop right to Matthew. The illustrations are different then I usually like, but I have seen Aureile Guillerey‘s work before in the Kids Can Press book called Worms.

Book Time, book reviews, children's books, picture books, imagination, nature, friendship
I Wrote You a Note.

I Wrote You A Note
I Wrote You A Note By Lizi Boyd ($23.99, Raincoast Books, Chronicle Books) is a story about a girl who wrote a message but wondered if it was received as various animals found it – and used it. There was a turtle that made a sail for his raft, but the boat went too fast and the turtle slipped back into the water and a snail who thought it was a house and went inside but found no one home (kind of sad really). I was a bit bored by the end so a few less stops would have been appreciated.

Book Time, book reviews, children's books, picture books, trains, fiction, circus, circus animals, rhyming book
Trains Don’t Sleep

Trains Don’t Sleep
Trains Don’t Sleep by Andria Rosenbaum ($23.99, Raincoast Books, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) is not what I was expecting it to be. I guess when I think trains I think short board books. This is not what this was. This was a lovely story about a train’s journey, the items it tows, the people it sees and the places it goes, all in rhyme. I love the illustrations. I did not like that one of the items the train was towing was circus animals; I am not a fan of circuses with animals, although it made for some beautiful pictures. I liked the glossary at the end that showed us the type of train and what it does.

Books were provided by Kids Can Press and Raincoast Books for honest reviews.

