Frost warnings. In May. I am not sure why I am shocked about the fact there is a chance of frost tonight. It’s not like I live in a place where May guarantees warm conditions. In fact, we’ve had snow in May before.

I suppose tonight’s cold-weather warning is upsetting because it has been a miserable spring thus far – rain for almost an entire week and my winter coat has been pulled out of the closet again. Frost, no matter how light, just seems too much.

But things are getting better – the daffodils are up in my garden, the tulips are just about to pop and I received What Plant Where Encyclopedia, Canadian edition from DK Books ($40, Canadian editor, Lorraine Johnson).

I lost several hours when the book first arrived, and have been flipping through it since.

 

Book Time, book reviews, garden, Canada, DK Books, Encyclopedia, native plants, invasive plants, gardening
One of the inside pages from What Plant Where Encyclopedia.

 

The 400-page book has tons of pictures and information on each page, breaking information down into sections including full sun, with plants for sandy soil, for pond perimeters, cracks in walls and paving and patios and balconies; gardens in shade including productive patios, woodland and urban gardens; as well as plants for garden styles including, my favourite, cottage gardens, wildlife gardens and plants for play. I love that the book also offers a section on plants for various colour schemes (pastel, cool), those with colourful stems, fragrant blooms and even suggestions for people with allergies.

There is so much information on each plant in this book including description about each plant, how tall and wide it is, the plant size, the conditions it needs and its planting zone.

My only complaint about this book is that it doesn’t tell you which plant is native to Canada and which is an invasive species. So before buying any of these plants, I would do some research to ensure it actually belongs in our gardens.

 

A copy of this book was provided by DK Books for an honest review.

