I can see March Break before me, and I am excited.

For the first time since my son was born, I have March Break off and, so far, we don’t have any plans.

As a person who grew up with a stay-at-home mom, I understand the importance of unscheduled fun, of a day to do whatever you want without the structure of school, camp, daycare or an activity.

My son doesn’t often get that chance, so I am pretty excited for him to have the opportunity to be bored, and then decide what he wants to do to solve that.

And while we may spend every day playing one of the elaborate games he creates, we may also try one of the 100 projects found in DK Books The Big Book of Things To Make ($18.99).

The book, broken into three sections – Make It, Do It and Know It – has a number of things we have already tried including milk planets, launch a bottle rocket and make your own slime as well as a number of ideas – some new and some old – I think my son will love including soap monsters, secret spy gear and trick your taste buds.

I think he will love glow-in-the-dark Jello, and prank patrol.

I once explained to him about booby traps, and we have been trying to perfect the open-the-door-and-a-bucket-of-water-falls-on-your-head trick, but we haven’t been successful. I feel A Surprise Soaking will be quite the hit. As well Flyswatter Gross out (the hint still cracks me up), the soap trick and a moving coin.

Luckily, I will be a willing participant in these pranks rather then the victim.

How about you? Do you have any March Break plans?

dk-march-maker-2017-370x185

Note: This book was provided by DK for a honest review.

