I have a thing for the colour blue so just the title of the Little Blue Chair by Cary Fagan ($22.99, Tundra Books) made me want to read the book.

And beyond the colour – and beauty – of the front cover, the idea that this little chair meant so much to each person who claimed it, made the read that much more enjoyable.

I was sad when the little boy outgrew his favourite chair, and even sadder when his mom put it in the front yard with a please take me sign, but I loved the adventures the little chair went on, and the people who took the chair and made it their own.

I wasn’t surprised by the ending, although a bit disappointed about how it arrived. But as my eight year old didn’t seem to notice, nor comment, I suppose it’s just the cynicism of an adult.

The book is hanging up in my office (because I think the cover is beautiful – and it’s blue) until I get to read it again.

Little Blue Chair wins first May Cutler award from Tundra Books

To celebrate Tundra Book’s 50th anniversary, the company has launched an illustration award to honour its founder, May Cutler.

Little Blue Chair’s illustrator, Prince George, B.C.,’s Madeline Kloepper, is the first recipient.

The May Cutler Emerging Artist of the Year celebrates Cutler’s mission to introduce children to art and artists, according to a press release.

The annual honor will be given to a debut illustrator for her work on a book published by Tundra.

“We’re so delighted to be presenting Madeline (Kloepper) with this honor,” said Tara Walker, publisher, Penguin Random House Canada Young Readers, and vice-president, Penguin Random House Canada, in a release. “We were immediately drawn to the sweet, winsome faces of her characters in Little Blue Chair, full of quiet emotion and subtle expression, and the way she captures intimate every day scenes and vast landscapes with equal beauty and curiosity. Her art is so assured and has such a classic feel, and she’s brought Cary’s wonderful story to life in such a sensitive and poignant way that it’s remarkable to think this is her very first picture book.”

Note: Tundra Books provided a copy of this book for honest review.

 

