Fish Girl by Donna Jo Napoli and illustrated by David Wiesner ($24.99, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Books, Raincoast Books) is a beautifully illustrated book about a girl who lives in a tank on at a boardwalk aquarium. Visitors only get a glimpse of the girl who doesn’t walk and has a tail until she accidentally shows herself to Livia, a girl close to her age who introduces her to yoga and pizza, and the realization her life is not what she thought it was.

I absolutely loved the story, and the next day I am still thinking about so many of the wrongs done by Fish Girl by “Neptune”, about the love she has with her fellow fish and octopus friends, and the choices she makes.

I loved the illustrations – how blue everything is and how many emotions play across Fish Girl’s face.

The cynic in me wonders about the ending – or at least the next chapter in Fish Girl’s life, which we don’t get to see. I wonder how Fish Girl will survive, and if she will find land and humans all that she hoped.

Note: A copy of this book was sent to me by Raincoast Books for an honest review.

