Every once in a while I impress my son.

It doesn’t happen that often, but when it does it’s worth it. I am talking about wide eyes and a big ‘wow’.

The most recent bit of wowing happened when I told him I started and finished Frazzled Everyday Disasters and Impending Doom by Booki Vivat ($15.99, HarperCollins) in the time it took him to use his 30 minutes of screen time.

Yes, he was impressed that I could read more than 200 pages in a half a hour. I didn’t tell him, however, that there were a lot of pictures in the book, and a large font, instead simply saying I would read it to him if he would like.

He was equally excited about that.

Frazzled Everyday is a cute book about Abbie Wu, the middle child, who is off to middle school, and her fear of upcoming disaster. While I don’t really understand what middle school is, nor why it’s so awful, Abbie’s points as why anything to do with the middle is pretty funny: “The Middle Ages. No electricity, lots of wars and that whole plaque thing; The Middle Seat. Good-bye personal space. Being a Middle child. Trust me. I know from experience – it’s terrible. The middle is the worst place you could possibly be, and since middle school is the middle of all Middles…I am guaranteed without-a-doubt 100 per cent doomed.

Frazzled Everyday was funny, clever and a fun, quick read.

A copy of this book was provided by HarperCollins for an honest review.

