It’s amazing how much damage we can do to those people who need us the most – our children.

I understand depression – as much as someone who, thankfully, doesn’t suffer from it can understand. I have been told when you have depression, it takes all your energy to simply get out of bed and shuffle to the washroom; that when you are in its grasp, it takes courage to fight your way out of it. I can understand and appreciate how much strength someone with depression must have in order to see the light at the end of the tunnel.

But I also feel that our children are worth it; that when you have children, you no longer have the right to give up and to only think of yourself because they need you. They need you to show them right from wrong, to be there for them to help them through life because while it’s tough for us, it is also tough for them. If you give up, or put your issues on your children, you are causing so much harm, so much damage to the people who look to use to guide them through this thing called life.

Everything Beautiful Is Not Ruined by Danielle Younge-Ullman ($21.99, Razor Bill) is an absolutely beautiful book about love and loss. I love that you find out more about Ingrid, the main character, and her life with her mother Margot-Sophia, who has depression so severely she stops living and leaves her daughter to fend for herself, in flashbacks. I love the wilderness camp Ingrid is forced to go to by her mother in order for her to go to a school Margot-Sophia doesn’t approve of. I love the people Ingrid meets at the camp, and the challenges they each face in conquering their own fears. I love Andreas’ character, which shows how great men can be.

I thought I saw the end, but then didn’t, and I love how awful and beautiful it was.

Everything Beautiful Is Not Ruined. Words to remember – and to read again.

A copy of this book was provided by Penguin Random House for a honest review.

