Samson in the Snow by Philip C. Stead (Roaring Brook Press, $20.50) is about a lonely wooly mammoth who meets a red bird bringing flowers to a friend, who is having a bad day. Suddenly, a snowstorm hits and Samson, worried about the bird, goes to find her, meeting another new friend along the way.

I quite liked this book. I particularly liked watching my son’s reaction when he figured out how the characters worked together.

My only complaint is the bird in the snow. The way it is illustrated makes bird look dead, unpleasantly, dead, which he is not. The rest of the illustrations are odd as well, but I feel the bird should have been drawn differently.

piggy

Piggy by Trevor Lai (Bloomsbury Children’s Books, $19.99) is about a book-loving pig who never made time for friends because he was always reading. After reading all but one of his books from his library, he goes outside to play and also discovers a friend. Sadly for Piggy, the book-loving cat doesn’t look up from her book despite all of Piggy’s attempts to get her to notice him. I wasn’t sure where this book was going when I began to read it to my eight year old. I was happy it went in the direction it did.

