I was once accused of judging books by their covers. A person called me out when I said I would read the book in question because I loved the cover. His point was that I really should be thanking the artist rather than the author for creating a book I want to read.

I suppose it’s a valid point, although if the cover is beautiful and the book sucks, do I then blame the artist?

In the case of JK Rowling’s Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them The Original Screenplay (Scholastic Books), I hoped what was inside would be as amazing as the front cover.

And it is.

I didn’t know much about the story until I started to read the screenplay, and much like Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, I was pulled in very quickly, and stayed reading until the end. The screenplay makes me want to watch the movie. I haven’t been this excited about a movie since Harry Potter was last in the theatres.

I hope JK Rowling writes more about these characters, and more of her brand of magic.

Note: Scholastic Canada sent me this book, but the opinions are my own.

