I am a firm believer in the magic of Christmas, and work very hard to ensure the magic remains.

It’s for that reason, I read every Christmas book that comes my way before reading it my seven-year-old son.

I have rejected many books as they cast doubt on the existence of Santa or implied he was make believe. I have also rejected books that offer the wrong message.

catchelf

In this case, How to Catch an Elf by Adam Wallace and Andy Elkerton (Sourcebooks).

While I love the illustrations, I am not a fan of the fact that children, in their quest to catch Santa in the act, have booby trapped their houses with bombs, zappers and food.

Santa is a kind, generous man who is coming to your house to give you presents and you are shooting a food cannon at him and his helper? What is the message of that story? What do you want you child to take away from it other then simply a laugh?

Thankfully, I also received A Boy Called Christmas by Matt Haig (HarperCollins).

Targeted to children eight to 12, this book shows the story of how Father Christmas came to be the man in red delivering presents to children all over the world in one night. Despite the suggested age level for this book, there was no doubt of magic. It’s magic from the moment you started reading it, right to the end. The book made me laugh out loud, but it also made me very sad – and very angry.

It’s being billed as a new Christmas classic, and I agree. I am reading it my son right now, and will read it again next year.

santa

Another book that will make it to my son is Santa’s Sleigh is on its way to Canada, A Christmas Adventure by Eric James (Sourcebooks). This is likely a book you can get for any country or city (just change the names and some of the pictures), but it’s a fun rhyming book, perfect for a bedtime story.

